Urgent! Volunteers needed to help hand weed our garden in the scottish highlands

food and accommodation, scotland landscape, workaway, helpx, wwoof, volunteering, exchange, free hospitality,

Hello, thank you for looking at our listing, we are Cathy (40), John (38) and Leo who is 7 years old and home-educated. We live in a beautiful little cottage slap bang in the middle of a nature reserve in the Scottish Highlands.

We like to have 3 helpers so friends are welcome to apply, alternatively we are happy to take 3 single travellers or even a family – but please be aware you may need to share a sleeping area with another helper (who we will ensure is the same sex and similar age to you.)

Hospitality information

We have a big kitchen, sitting room (with X-box, Wii and DVDs) and big garden as well as of course plenty of amazing countryside so you are definitely not going to feel cooped up. We also have a bath with unlimited hot water at any time of day – which is apparently a bit of a volunteer’s luxury lol!

Food and accommodation

All meals including picnics for your days off are provided and of course you can have access to games / books etc. just make yourself at home with us. We do not have WiFi but have a good mobile signal at the house.

Helping hours

We ask that you work about 24 hours a week you can choose how you divide the hours.


We need help looking after the house and garden and assisting with Cathy`s messy-play and cleaning businesses. The other jobs we need help with are many and varied but could include:

  • Looking after Leohelpx, workaway, woof, hospitality exchange, scotland, free list
  • Dog walking
  • Decorating
  • Gardening
  • Repairing outbuildings
  • Cleaning out poultry
  • Berry picking
  • Beer / Wine making
  • Jam / pickle making
  • Laundry (lots and lots of laundry!)
  • Assisting at sales / promotion events
  • Or whatever needs doing that day, we need someone to fit in with whatever needs doing, often we don`t know til that morning!
More information

This is a placement for a flexible, confident person who is fine spending time alone and does not need detailed instructions to get on with a task. We have animals including a dog and cats who live in the house so you must be comfortable around them.

workaway, children, kids, scotland, scottish, helpx, hospitality exchange, food and accommodation


We are a long way from anywhere, the bus stop is over a mile from the house and the buses are not all that regular so please only apply to stay if you like walking and the countryside!

Our house is difficult to get to on public transport, especially with a big bag, however, if you get yourself to Inverness airport, train station or bus station, I will pick you up and drive you home. If there is anything you`d like to know about us please get in touch, we look forward to hearing from you and you can add me on Facebook if you wish.


We usually not take vegetarians or vegans, as we do eat our own free range, ethically reared poultry. However, if you are a vegetarian and not offended by this, please feel free to contact us.


What you can gain from us (other than English practice): Country skills.


We are trying to be as self-sufficient as possible and grow our own food wherever possible. There will be opportunities to plant, grow, tend and harvest foods. Poultry husbandry. Occasionally there will be the opportunity to learn how to prepare a small animal (rabbit, chicken etc.) for the table if you want – obviously this is not something you have to witness and for the most part our diet is vegetable based.

We also forage and can share our wild food hunting skills, for greens, mushrooms and berries.
We make jams, chutneys, beers, wines etc. and would love to share these skills.




workaway, helpx, scottish lake, hospitality exchange, free hospitality

More volunteering opportunities in Scotland

Author: Voluntouring staff

Become a volun-tourist! Discover the opportunities to volunteer and travel meaningfully around the world! We add new opportunities every day: www.voluntouring.org Follow our updates on Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Urgent! Volunteers needed to help hand weed our garden in the scottish highlands

  1. Hi my name is John and this sounds appealing to me ๐Ÿ˜Š I spent the last year as a volunteer in a bible college in the Uk. My role was taking care of all the maintenance and gardening mainly and also cooking sometimes. But now I am currently back in the north of the Uk living with my parents and Iโ€™m looking for the next opportunity for me. Iโ€™m 33 years old and I am a qualified plasterer and can do most things involved with construction. Iโ€™m easygoing, friendly, and love to see new things and meet new people.

    Please contact me if this role is still open. Thankyou ๐Ÿ˜Š

    1. Dear John ๐Ÿ˜Š
      This is the comment section of the host announcement. The hosts might not (be able to) read this section. To get in touch with them, please use the contacts they left for you in the “Contact Details section” at the end of the same announcement, just above our conversation.๐Ÿ‘†

      Thank you and good travels ๐Ÿ‘‹

      Did you know? you could use this section to leave a reference, or review, of this volunteer project/program.

      Voluntouring team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.