Volunteer in an old traditional farmhouse as a kid teacher in Austria

volunteering, volunteer, voluntouring, voluntourism, exchange, food and accommodation, host exchange, free hospitality, kids, children, farmhouse, farm austria

Volunteer in Austria in an old traditional farmhouse

Volunteer in Austria โ€“ Hello everybody! ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  I gained already some amazing volunteer/wwoof experiences during my solo world trip, thatยดs why I convinced my sister to try it out as a HOST ๐Ÿ˜‰

My sister Christine and her family are a great team of 5: Christine 39, Simon 43, and the 3 kids (the boy is 12, the two girls are 8 and 4). They live and work in a 240-year-old traditional and totally new renovated modern farmhouse in Tirol, Austria, with animals like cows, goats, a horse, chickens and a cat. The whole family loves animals and they are passionate farmers. The children feel the spirit and animal love already!
They do organic farming, they eat their own meat, vegetables and fruits. In this amazing place, life is still peaceful.

As farm work is sadly not enough affordable, Simon is also working full time in an office as a consultant. Christine is a primary school and special education teacher and is also working part-time, besides being a mom of 3 children, she runs the household, farm and a holiday flat. In Summer, the family and their animals enjoy a great time on their alpine pasture in the Tyrolean Alps

Volunteer in Austria – What you will be doing here

Now, distance learning is challenging, thatยดs why they need somebody as soon as possible for learning and practising English with the kids, especially to the 12-year-old boy, who loves animals very much. Besides teaching English, please help with the daily tasks:

  • in the household (cooking, cleaning),
  • play and go for a walk with the children…
  • voluntarily helping and supporting feeding animals and in summer f.e. helping with harvesting in the garden, landscape management, haymaking
Benefits

As an exchange for about 5h a day youยดll get room and board.

They are a very friendly, positive & open-minded family and they have had already volunteers helping on their farm. The family appreciates people with a positive attitude to work and living.

Accommodation & requisites

You will have your own room with your own bathroom. In case their holiday Appartement is free, you could stay there.

No smokers please, they generally have a healthy lifestyle.

Language

You need to have a basic level in German. We can help you to improve your German, we can show you how to live sustainably and eco.



What else โ€“ย What you can do here by yourself:

In winter:

  • go skiing,
  • sledging,
  • cross-country
  • skiing etc…

the ski area โ€œSKI JUWEL Alpbachtal Wildschรถnauโ€ is just right next to the corner, you can walk there. https://www.skijuwel.com/en/winter

In summer:

  • go hiking,
  • amazing nature
  • mountains,
  • nature drinking
  • water lakes etc.

The farm is about 1h away from Innsbruck, the capital of Tyrol, and 20min away from Wรถrgl, which is the next bigger city. Visit Kitzbรผhel (35km away), Ellmau 35km away…

You can get there also by public transport (bus stop 1km away from the farm)

COVID19 issues

By the way: donยดt be concerned about corona -> Christine and Simon have had the coronavirus already in November 2020!

The lovely family is well known and highly appreciated in the east part of Tyrol. I wouldn’t say it if I wouldnยดt be 100% convinced!


CONTACT DETAILS


For more info or pictures of the family, farm and animals, please check their website: https://thumahof.at


The announcement was left by Maria on our FB group


Go to the Organic Farm section

See more volunteering opportunities in Austria



Author: Voluntouring staff

Become a volun-tourist! Discover the opportunities to volunteer and travel meaningfully around the world! We add new opportunities every day: www.voluntouring.org Follow our updates on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.