Help on an Organic Farm and Horse Rescue Center in Bulgaria

horses, blind horse, animal sanctuary, horse rescue center, wwoof, wwoofing, wwoof in Bulgaria

Horse Rescue Bulgaria, Updated May 2022 โ€“ Hope everyone is looking forward to Summer and lots of travel and new adventures. We are a retired English couple in Bulgaria. Located between Sevlievo and Gabrovo. ฤฐn the hills below the Stara planฤฑna mountain range.

We are looking for some help cutting dead branches and trees down in our organic orchards. Garden work and weeding of a walled garden trimmed hedges. Also, help in building a retaining wall at the back of the house. Painting and varnish work. ฤฐf anyone is great at putting up plasterboard/drywall and plastering we would love to have you here.

Lots of small projects running all summer and into autumn too.

  • Putting up new fencing in our horse paddocks.
  • Also fruit picking and jam making too.

We have 3 horses 3 dogs and 3 cats.

ฤฐn exchange for your time and help. ( 5 hours per day, 5 days per week )
We offer the use of our home and also space for a campervan/caravan or tents. Bedroom in our home if required. Shower, good food and company. Laundry is done for you etc.

We are taking volunteers now. (Get in touch using the Contact Details ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ“ง section below๐Ÿ‘‡)

General info

We are a Horse Rescue Centre in Bulgaria looking for some help putting up fencing around an area that we have just cleared of trees and scrub, this will be our new schooling area for our horses.ย We are also wanting to cut down old dead fruit trees in our fruit orchard, as well as help in the garden.ย Building work ie: retaining walls around the garden and stables as well as work on the new section of house internal work.

We are in Bulgaria. Between Gabrovo and Sevlievo,
Full board, all meals and own room. Wifi etc.

Our story – The horse rescue center

We moved away from the UK in 2007. Our first move: South West Turkey to retire. Or so we thought. We did not retire but instead set up a horse rescue centre. 7 horses, 4 dogs and 3 cats. We stayed there for 10 years.
Then moved here to Bulgaria 2016. Winter. We brought with us 3 horses, 2 dogs and 3 cats.
We now have 9 acres of organic land with several orchards
We want to share our experience of life outside the UK, our knowledge and care for horses and dogs and animals

Volunteer help:
  • Animal keeping
  • Building
  • Cleaning
  • Farming/Gardening
  • General Help
Our mission

As we have retired and now want to give back help and support to people. Share our views and love for animals
That you should Live your Dream Anything and everything is possible
We have only just started to live our dreams

That you should Live your Dream, Anything and everything is possible

We need help with

  • set up horse paddocks, field shelters, fences etc.
  • Cut trees down that have died, etc
  • Make Jam and preserves.
  • Help build walls, and paths, garden work and
  • help in the home.

If anyone is a well-experienced horse rider we would love you very much to come and help out.


How many volunteers could you host?


When would you need volunteers?

All Year March to March. As soon as possible

How many hours of help per day?


How many days of help per week?


Live as part of our family, be your self, have fun and smile.ย Life is too short not to live your dream. Be part of our mad family of horses, dogs and cats.

Are accommodation and food included?

Yes, food and accommodation are included.ย 

What type of accommodation can you provide?

Private Room.ย In our home.
Own room with shared WC and shower, (double bed so can take a couple or single person),

We also have a caravan with a double bed and a single bed.
Use of house for meals, shower etc.

We can also take camper vans and tents.

All meals / full board ( 3 meals a day and hot or cold soft drinks)


All meals / full board ( 3 meals a day and hot or cold soft drinks). We eat meat but happy to provide Vegetarian meals. If volunteer lets us know any diet request.


No! I cannot help with Visa


Share your views on travel, world and life. Cooking and food. We want to share your dream too.
You can teach us things, we are never too old to re-learn new ideas and things.

What to do in the free time

It’s not all work. But Play too.
Lots of free time. If you want to explore the woods and forest please do. We have lots of wild life. if you want to draw, or just take pics.

Visit local places. We are happy to drop you somewhere or even go with you for a day out. Happy to suggest places too.


English only


We are located between Sevlievo and Gabrovo. We are in the Balkan Mountains. Stara Planina range.
Our village is Sarbolatsite close to Stolat. Sarbolatsite is a very small hamlet in North-Central Bulgaria we are 520 meters above sea-level.

  • Sevlievo is 30 minutes away
  • Gabrovo is 45 minutes away.
  • Veliko Tarnovo is 1 hour and 15 minutes away.
  • Sofia 3 hours away.

Our Horse Rescue centre in Bulgaria is located in a stunning location at the foothill of the Stara Planning mountains part of the Balkan mountain peninsula. We are on a hillside and have stunning views of the valley below and Sevlievo in the distance. As our home is off the beaten track in the hills, you will have plenty of time to explore the natural beauty of this stunning area.
Our house is set in 9 acres of land. Woods, paddocks and orchards. (Cherry, Plum, Apples, Pears, Quince, Mulberry and others )
We have deer, wild boar, hares, rabbits and other mammals all with our area as well as local birds etc.

So a paradise if you want just to chill out, draw or relax.

Our closest airport is Sofia, but Varna and Plovdiv are around 4 hrs away

How to get to your site
To reach us via Flight :

Our closest airport is Sofia, but Varna and Plovdiv are around 4 hrs away.


Sevlievo, Gabrovo
Veliko Tarnovo then a local bus to Sevlievo

Bla-Bla Car/ Hitchhike

Again Sevlievo.


to Gabrovo, Pavlikeni and bus to Sevlievo. (Sevlievo is on the main highway Varna to Sofia).


Mountain View.
Sarbolatsite, Stolat, Sevlievo, Gabrovo District 5452 Bulgaria

Is there internet access?



Horse Rescue centre in Bulgaria

email: horse rescue center

Hostname: Christine Thompson

More volunteering opportunities in Bulgaria

Author: Voluntouring staff

Become a volun-tourist! Discover the opportunities to volunteer and travel meaningfully around the world! We add new opportunities every day: Follow our updates on Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Help on an Organic Farm and Horse Rescue Center in Bulgaria

  1. I am a solo female backpacker from Malaysia. And I am currently traveling around Europe for 6 months. June will pass my 3 months of traveling. Do you still need volunteer? I can commit around 2 weeks – 1 month.
    Please drop me an email if you need me. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.