Volunteer exchange in South of Italy – Aspromonte

volunteer exchange, volunteer project, volunteering, volunteers, voluntouring, voluntourism, projects abroad, help exchange, Italy, South, food and accommodation,

Volunteer exchange in Italy โ€“ As an Australian living in Italy, I loved the fact that there was so much you could do as a volunteer, and this is how my project has started. I started volunteering some years ago and loved the hands-on work and the interaction in which I had with locals. This is what I want to offer the volunteers that come here. An opportunity to experience and see a part of Italy which is rarely visited. To taste the wonders that we produce from the land, to observe a culture old and quaint as well as discover the mountain and waterfalls which surround this unique area.

Updated December 28th 2020 โ€“ NOTE:
For 2021 I shall be in Australia and will be returning in 2022, therefore my project will be on hold.ย ย 
If people are still interested, there are other fab people who are embarking on similar projects and they can be contacted.
Stay well and until my return to the project, enjoy life to the fullest. Maria
Updated December 3rd 2020 โ€“ NOTE:

So weโ€™ve started to moveโ€ฆslowly. WITH UTMOST CARE WHEN TRAVELLING AND HEALTH.
The volunteer who is here is hostage (just kidding) he is happily helping me with the cuttings around the base of the tree and removing horrid thorn roots, pole painting, removal of fenceโ€ฆ.he too may have some paid work due to the olive season. Crazy how lockdown can give great opportunities as well.

What type of host are you?
  • Private/Individual/family
What are you looking for help with?
What’s the mission of your community?

As an individual starting from scratch my mission is to share that which once was, to keep tradition and culture alive, but in a fun way. One where a project can branch out to other areas and involve individuals with the same taste, dreams and desires. My mission is to share and keep sharing what knowledge of the land there was and to incorporate better and more sustainable ways of doing things.

Not running a business and the produce/food is not for sale. If it is only for our own consumption.

I’d love anyone who could after this date who may want to continue this for the long term to contact me. Someone who is able to be somewhat self-sufficient and has perhaps a camper and is able to ….well, let’s chat.

How many volunteers could you host?
  • A couple of volunteers
When would you need volunteers?

ย It varies – yearly

How many hours of help per day?
  • 4-5 hours of help per day
How many days of help per week?
  • 4 days of help per week – 3 days off

Days of work can be discussed, and I am flexible, as should you be. Volunteers work 4-5 hours a day 4 days a week, and this is usually in the morning- dependent on weather.

Are accommodation and food included?

Yes, room and board are included

What type of accommodation can you provide?

Cleanliness in the apartment is really important. It is a shared space, even if you are the only one there. Things should be put away and clean ALL the time, kitchen and bathroom should be respected and cleaned after individual use. You will find most things in the apartment, yet your toiletries etc are your responsibility this includes toilet paper, make sure you do not run out.

Diet – nutrition information

Food is included for the days you work. The days off are each person’s responsibility, although I do try to supply as much fresh produce as possible. 90% of the time lunch and dinner are together. Yet, sometimes due to my schedule I sometimes leave you to cook for yourselves. Most food requirements can be accommodated, but it is a good idea to keep in mind if you have allergies etc to bring your own or be prepared to buy special foods if needed. In saying this: most of the produce is grown, I do not cook meat nor do I buy it for volunteers, you may do so happily. This is a mountain area so you find the typical southern Italian cuisine; tasty and wholesome.

VISA – could you provide Visa support/info/invitation letters?

No! we cannot help with Visa/invitation letters – similar requests will be ignored.

Volunteers’ benefits:

The benefits are certainly that of culture and tradition. Depending on when you come you will experience different aspects of what goes on in this village tucked away in Aspromonte.

  • Olive groves and the oil-normally from October -Feb (cleaning of land all year round)
  • Tomato sauce (August)
  • Pork sausages and its meat being cured (November – winter)
  • The Italian vegetable garden (all year round)
  • The wine and the picking of the grapes
  • And so much more
What to do in the free time

Hiking, camping, horse-riding, off or on-road bike riding, relaxing, historical towns to be discovered and more that I can’t even think of.


Italian and or English

Additional information for the Volunteers

Here in Aspromonte, we are basically surrounded by nature and the project is clearing a beautiful part in which project oil and….is evolving. The area is peaceful and a great place where people can find time to work on themselves and assist with the growth of the project.

Transport is minimal and for those who arrive it is important that they all understand that I am not always available, and being able to work autonomously is really important. This only means that I also work on other things at the same time.
Do your research on how to get around if you do not have a car or other means of transport. Walking is the main means of transport to the property, and a good pair of shoes and outdoor wear is needed. There are some fabulous guided tours around the area in which you can take part in, which are usually on a Sunday and affordable. approx 10-20 euro for a guided informative trek.

  • https://www.facebook.com/Asproseby77
  • https://www.facebook.com/mgoutdoor
  • https://www.facebook.com/lilloaloiaspromonteinside/posts/170713884589629

(they usually speak Italian, some even English)

How to get to your site

We are remote, but you can get to us via bus from Reggio Calabria (this is one that arrives here in the afternoon) leaves Reggio at approximately 13:40 and gets here at about 16:00 a great bus ride via the coastal towns. Take note of these you may want to visit them on your days off. You can get to Gioia Tauro (RC) by train or bus and I can arrange to have you picked up it is approximately 28 km’s away. You may want to ride here if you have a bike or even get here by car.

We have two buses a day which depart early morning (05:30) to Reggio (ETA 07:50), it does connect with other buses, and one at 13:40 which arrives at 15:50. From Reggio Calabria the buses depart at 06:20-13:40-18:00 all from the stop across the road from Stazione Lido (near Cesere Ice Cream Parlour) they take approx an hour and forty to reach the Village.

The town is Santa Cristina d’Aspromonte (RC) Southern Italy

Is there internet access?

Wifi is available at my home. The volunteer accommodation DOES NOT HAVE WIFI.


Communication is really important, messages/ texts are not always answered.

I guess this gives you some idea of what we expect as people working together. Please feel free to ask any questions and when you are sure you would like to be part of the project, send me an email with your dates of interest and we can then speak via facetime etc.

Contact me via mariacalipari@gmail.com
you can also find me on Instagram or Facebook

Facebook Project Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/787131988728933

Hostname: Maria

See more volunteering opportunity in Italy ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น

Author: Voluntouring staff

Become a volun-tourist! Discover the opportunities to volunteer and travel meaningfully around the world! We add new opportunities every day: www.voluntouring.org Follow our updates on Facebook!

4 thoughts on “Volunteer exchange in South of Italy – Aspromonte

  1. Hello, my name is Liat Merlino, I am 22 years old, originally from Israel.
    I moved to Italy a year and a half ago, since then I was looking to be an integrate part of the Italian community and culture. The Covid made it especially hard for me, so instead of feeling sorry for myself Iโ€™ve decided to contribute to the community to make it here a better place and to have more opportunities to meet Italian speakers, improve my speech in Italian, and take an active part in the community.
    I am someone very spiritual, I love Yoga, I am vegetarian, I love nature and animals (I have a little dog). I am not afraid of hard work, I am very perfectionist, and I love being busy, doing something meaningful with my time.
    Back in Israel I used to work with children as a kindergarten teacher from 0-3 years old. I speak fluent English, Hebrew and basic Italian.
    I am disponible immediately, ready to take part in a new adventure.
    Best regards,
    PS: I am totally legal here, I have a Swiss passport and Italian residency.

  2. Hi dear volunteers!

    NOTE: So we’ve started to move…slowly. WITH UTMOST CARE WHEN TRAVELLING AND HEALTH.
    The volunteer who is here is hostage (just kidding) he is happily helping me with the cuttings around the base of the tree and removing horrid thorn roots, pole painting, removal of the fence….he too may have some paid work due to the olive season. Crazy how lockdown can give great opportunities as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.