Volunteer exchange in South of Italy – Aspromonte

volunteer exchange, volunteer project, volunteering, volunteers, voluntouring, voluntourism, projects abroad, help exchange, Italy, South, food and accommodation,

Volunteer exchange in Italy – As an Australian living in Italy, I loved the fact that there was so much you could do as a volunteer, and this is how my project has started. I started volunteering some years ago and loved the hands-on work and the interaction in which I had with locals. This is what I want to offer the volunteers that come here. An opportunity to experience and see a part of Italy which is rarely visited. To taste the wonders that we produce from the land, to observe a culture old and quaint as well as discover the mountain and waterfalls which surround this unique area.

What type of host are you?
  • Private/Individual/family
What are you looking for help with?
What’s the mission of your community?

As an individual starting from scratch my mission is to share that which once was, to keep tradition and culture alive, but in a fun way. One where a project can branch out to other areas and involve individuals with the same taste, dreams and desires. My mission is to share and keep sharing what knowledge of the land there was and to incorporate better and more sustainable ways of doing things.

How many volunteers could you host?
  • A couple of volunteers
When would you need volunteers?

From September 20th to 15th October

How many hours of help per day?
  • 4-5 hours of help per day
How many days of help per week?
  • 4 days of help per week – 3 days off
Are accommodation and food included?

Yes, room and board are included

What type of accommodation can you provide?

Others (please, specify in general info)

Diet – nutrition information

Most food requirements can be accommodated, but it is a good idea to keep in mind if you have allergies etc to bring your own or be prepared to buy special foods if needed. In saying this: most of the produce is grown, I do not cook meat nor do I buy it for volunteers, you may do so happily. This is a mountain area so you find the typical southern Italian cuisine; tasty and wholesome.

VISA – could you provide Visa support/info/invitation letters?

No! we cannot help with Visa/invitation letters – similar requests will be ignored.

Volunteers’ benefits:

The benefits are certainly that of culture and tradition. Depending on when you come you will experience different aspects of what goes on in this village tucked away in Aspromonte.

  • Olive groves and the oil-normally from October -Feb (cleaning of land all year round)
  • Tomato sause (August)
  • Pork sausages and its meat being cured (November – winter)
  • The Italian vegetable garden (all year round)
  • The wine and the picking of the grapes
  • And so much more
What to do in the free time

Hiking, camping, horse-riding, off or on-road bike riding, relaxing, historical towns to be discovered and more that I can’t even think of.

Language

Italian and or English

How to get to your site

We are remote, but you can get to us via bus from Reggio Calabria (this is one that arrives here in the afternoon) leaves Reggio at approximately 13:40 and gets here at about 16:00 a great bus ride via the coastal towns. Take note of these you may want to visit them on your days off. You can get to Gioia Tauro (RC) by train or bus and I can arrange to have you picked up it is approximately 28 km’s away. You may want to ride here if you have a bike or even get here by car.

The town is Santa Cristina d’Aspromonte (RC) Southern Italy

Is there internet access?

Yes!


CONTACT DETAILS


Contact me via mariacalipari@gmail.com
you can also find me on Instagram or Facebook
Hostname: Maria


See more volunteering opportunity in Italy



Author: Voluntouring staff

Become a volun-tourist! Discover the opportunities to volunteer and travel meaningfully around the world! We add new opportunities every day: www.voluntouring.org Follow our updates on Facebook!

2 thoughts on “Volunteer exchange in South of Italy – Aspromonte

  1. Hello, my name is Liat Merlino, I am 22 years old, originally from Israel.
    I moved to Italy a year and a half ago, since then I was looking to be an integrate part of the Italian community and culture. The Covid made it especially hard for me, so instead of feeling sorry for myself I’ve decided to contribute to the community to make it here a better place and to have more opportunities to meet Italian speakers, improve my speech in Italian, and take an active part in the community.
    I am someone very spiritual, I love Yoga, I am vegetarian, I love nature and animals (I have a little dog). I am not afraid of hard work, I am very perfectionist, and I love being busy, doing something meaningful with my time.
    Back in Israel I used to work with children as a kindergarten teacher from 0-3 years old. I speak fluent English, Hebrew and basic Italian.
    I am disponible immediately, ready to take part in a new adventure.
    Best regards,
    Liat.
    PS: I am totally legal here, I have a Swiss passport and Italian residency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.